Refereeing Q&A

Refereeing Q&A

Getting your questions answered!

Dean Clayton has very kindly offered his services to answer your questions on refereeing and marking.

Please post your questions below and your reply will placed in the comments area.

If you need a log in please Email me:

To return to Devon Squash & Racketball press Home

Service

Q&APosted by Alan Ford (League Secretary) Tue, October 18, 2016 20:42:35
Hi Dean,
A racketball question on Service.
The server hits a serve and it goes short of the line, the receiver can elect to play the shot or not and if not then a 2nd serve is given!!! I understand this.
However:
A server serves the ball and the serve goes 1st bounce into the same quarter as they have served from, but on the 2nd bounce the ball bounces into the receivers quarter!!!
Is this serve a foul or is it the same as a short ball due to the 2nd bounce going into the receivers quarter and then becomes a 2nd serve???
This happened twice last night in a team match. We didn't know so we elected to give the player a 2nd serve.

Cheers
Alan

  • Comments(1)

Posted by Dean Clayton Wed, October 19, 2016 21:26:58

I don't claim to be an expert on Racketball rules but as far as I understand them, any first serve that is not good is a fault. The receiver has the option of taking the serve or letting the server have another try. According to paragraph 4e(iv) of the WSF Racketball rules on the England Squash website, a serve is a fault "If the ball, having been served, first touches the floor on or outside the short or half-court lines bordering the back quarter of the court required in rule 4c (which says the ball must land in the rear quarter of the court opposite to the server's box).

It seems to me that you did exactly the right thing in treating it as a fault and the server getting a second serve.

Here's the link to the rules that I eventually found, in case it helps.

All the best.

Dean

https://data.englandsquash.com/files?fileName=4565199b-1dd7-40f9-ae18-56128c0881b3.pdf